Rift Valley Railways

The Rift Valley Railways (RVR) is a consortium that was formed to manage the railways of Kenya and Uganda. The consortium won the bid for private management of the century-old Uganda Railway in 2005. The Kenya-Uganda railway had been run by the East African Railways and Harbours Corporation 1948 - 1977.

Date Event
1896 First railway line was laid down in Mombasa.

It began as Uganda Railways undertaken by the British Colonial government. The intention was to reach landlocked Uganda, one of its protectorates. The main reason being to exploit its resources and protect the source of the river Nile. The constructioncommenced in 1896 and was completed in 1926.

1927 Name changed from Uganda Railways to Kenya-Uganda Railways.

"harbours" was added after the administration of the harbours was combined with that of the Uganda railways and the name became Kenya-Uganda Railways & Harbours. The railway system in Kenya & Uganda operated together until 1948.

1966 East African Railways Corporation

After independence, the three East African Presidents met in Arusha and came up with the Arusha declaration in 1966. It was resolved that efficiency in parastatals needed to be improved and was decided in this meeting that harbours be divorced from the railways administration. This was done purely for the purpose of efficiency. In 1969, the name changed to East African Railways Corporation.

1969 Kenya Railways Corporation

By 1978, the distrust between the three leaders lead to a breakup. Additionally Nyerere and Amin believed that Kenya was gaining more from the East African Community than Tanzania and Uganda. The break up led to the birth of Kenya Railways, Uganda Railways & Tanzania Railways as separate entities.

2006 Rift Valley Railways (RVR)

Rift Valley Railways (RVR) took over the operations of the Kenya and Uganda Railways on 1st November, 2006 when the Kenya and Uganda jointly tendered through a bidding process, a 25 year concession for the rehabilitation, operation and maintenance of the railways then run by Kenya Railways Corporation (KRC) and Uganda Railways Corporation (URC) respectively.